111396049216018898

I love letters, especially the ones with great subject lines. F.W. ’05 had one that screamed “Wow. I can’t believe i’m writing a letter to the prez.” I couldn’t believe it either. We are at one of the top universities in the world and I get these things somewhat frequently. Who is in charge of admissions around here?

The message this time is rather touching. I almost felt like not making it public, but I decided not to make exceptions. If I can see it, so should anyone else.

Anyway, here it is:

I bet you get that subject line often!

Hi, I’m F***. So I have a question. I am a transfer student to Cornell. My tragic but heroic journey started with a 30hr bus ride all the way from Norman, OK to Ithaca for my interview. I love this school and I have supported myself financially through out my education. So now it’s senior year for me and well, i had so much stuff to pay for that I couldn’t buy a ring. Now I know, I know, you must get hit up for money all the time, but maybe you could put me in touch with someone. I don’t need anything fancy, just the traditional, cheapest karat gold Cornell ring. If you have any ideas that might point me in the right direction as far as funds are concerned I would appreciate it. So thanks a lot in advance!

P.S. I’m in an a cappella group called ***. We would love for you to come to our concert on April 30th!

Do you really want to hear my suggestion?

Leave a Reply

